‘Karen’ for Spring

‘Karen’ for Spring


While there are many actual people who have and continue to influence my style, there are two fictional characters who inspire a vast majority of my wardrobe selections. Not a soul who knows me will be shocked to hear that my numero uno, can’t get enough, can I be her when I grow up inspiration will always be Carrie Bradshaw. Maybe half as many of you have ever seen, let alone heard of the other. Ladies(and gents), may I introduce you to Karen van der Beek….
If you’ve never seen Californication, I highly recommend it. Karen’s low-key, SoCal vibes have been on my radar for several years now and I’m still loving her style. This is one of the many miracles of costume design–how cool is that job, by the way? You’re literally introduced to a person that came out of someone’s head and based on your opinion, you design their entire wardrobe. What a dream!! Karen’s style centers on flares, beautiful peasant tops and a blow-out worthy of the California sun. Here’s my current favorite version of “Karen cool”….

These American Eagle jeans are a go-to favorite of mine, especially for outfits of this nature.  Unfortunately, they are many years old–but I’ve found a couple of similar pairs here and here.  This top is also and oldie, but a goodie via Forever 21.  I love that the peasant top has made a return for the past few years, y’all.  It has always been a favorite of mine.  I love the color, cut and print on this  F21 top, and this killer off-the-shoulder top is currently on sale, which is amaze!  As always, i’m loving Target’s sandals for spring and they’re all perfect for this outfit re-creation! This pair is my current favorite and under $30!  Add an arm party, soft waves and this straw fedora, and boom!

IMG_7012.JPG

What’re your favorite spring trends?? Can’t wait to hear!

XO,

Jess

One thought on “‘Karen’ for Spring

  1. Stop being so perfect.

    Love your interpretation of the “Karen” look! This is one of my favorite looks on you so far! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

