Oscar Glam

Oscar Glam

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE movies, but I don’t have a film blog…. So, it goes without saying that really, my favorite part of the Oscars is the Red Carpet.  It really is every woman’s favorite, isn’t it? Mr. Jay hates that I always make him  watch the Red Carpet for Awards shows.  Even the SAG awards, guys–that’s the extent of my passion.  He never really complains about my need to watch the Oscar pre-show(I’m sure he sees it as a forgone conclusion), and my excitement for this year really cannot be contained–I’m in full-blown planning mode for our viewing party.  In preparation for the fashion explosion  on Sunday, I’ve rounded up my favorite looks from each of the past five years.

Image result for rachel mcadams oscar dress 2016

How do I not start with 2016 and Rachel McAdams in this to die for number by August Getty Atelier?? That train! That Back(or lack there of)! That Slit! Y’all, I still have dreams about it.  I’m not kidding.

Image result for gwyneth paltrow oscar dress 2015

People still talk about Gwyneth Paltrow’s Ralph Lauren dress from 1999, but I’m  hook, line and sinker in love with this other pink dress from 2015.  Maybe it’s the flower detail on the shoulder of this beautiful Ralph&Russo confection that still makes me weak in the knees? Or it could be the giant ruby earrings set against the loveliest shade of pink(I do love a  good red/pink combination).  She may not have taken home a statue, but she was definitely best dressed.

Image result for olivia wilde oscar dress 2014

I love Olivia Wilde in every form, but I’ve got to admit, not one does pregnant style quite like her.  This elegant Valentine gown did her every favor in 2014. The sleek silhouette, peep of ivory, updo and cat eye were the perfect recreation Jackie Kennedy era glitz and glam.

amy adams oscars

Oscar delaRenta.  The only way I can say that name is with the happiest of satisfied sighs. Amy Adams stunned in this tulle filled ball gown from the design house in 2013.  This is what Oscar dreams are made of, y’all.

Related image

Black dress, red lip, green jewels and the split seen ’round the world!! Versace’s brilliant concoction made Jolie the headline of the show that year. I can;t recall a single film from that year, but I’ll never forget this dress. Think she got tired posing that night?? Yeah, me either!

Thanks for reading, and stop by next week to see what I loved from this year’s show!! What dresses stick out in you memory?? I’d love to hear!

XO,

Jess

Leave a Reply

