His and Hers Valentine’s Day Edition 1

His and Hers Valentine’s Day Edition 1

img_6783

Can you guys believe it’s already February?? We’re ten days out from love day and in case you’re getting nervous about what to wear on your hot date, I’ve got a few posts headed you way! I love the idea of celebrating your love for all of the people in your life, but Mr. Jay is counted among the millions of men who’d really rather go to sleep on February 13th and wake up on the 15th. That said, we will BOTH(crazy!) address date ideas that are friendly to both parties and a few gift options, if you’re into that sort of thing!

Today though, I want to share an outfit combo on the dressier side of the event.  This combination would be great for a nice dinner and drinks, or any other out on the town event you might have in mind!

IMG_6865.JPG

Let’s talk guys first, shall we? I’m lucky that Mr. Jay likes clothes {almost} as much as I do, so he’s usually willing to play dress-up.  For this look, I wanted to keep it comfortable, (which I’ve learned is essential for men) but less casual than the typical go-to denim.

I realize not all men are open to wearing “skinny” jeans, but this option from Express gives a more slim line, while maintaining comfort(ie. a little extra room where men desire it).  I also think this classic outfit would work well with these black pants, that are a bit more traditional.  A classic gray sweater is a staple men’s wardrobe item.  The neckline is usually purely based on personal preference, but I recommend a v-neck for situations such as this, where layers are involved, and a crew-neck for more casual wear.  This is the exact sweater Mr. Jay is wearing, but he’s also approved this one, and this one.  White Oxfords are always “in” for men and women, alike.  JC Penney and Express both have a great selection for guys, find one tailored to your dude’s specific preference.

img_6845

A red tie can be a challenge on it’s own.  We struggled to ensure that it wouldn’t be too over the top.  My suggestion is that first, you decide whether you want a solid, or printed red tie.  For solid, I suggest this one, but if you’re feeling like mixing it up with some texture, this is also a great option.  I gave Mr. Jay these shades for Christmas and he loves them.  The classic silhouette is a call back to JFK, who to me always represents an air of effortless style.   If you’re looking for the RayBan equivalent, I’ve linked them here.  Last, but certainly not least, those shoes on my man! Y’all, I love this pair.  Mr. Jay has owned them since before we were dating and they’ve always been a favorite of mine.  Here they are in all their glory! I’m a huge fan of pairing grays and blacks with cognac shoes(as seen here).  I this the look is effortlessly flawless and these oxfords were the perfect addition to round out Mr. Jay’s “fancy” look.

Best for last, right?? Guys, I’ve been in love with this dress since the moment I first laid eyes on it.  That was over two years ago! Unfortunately, you guys know what this means–it’s not longer available.  However, I’ve rounded up some black and white staples that are sure to be classic additions to you wardrobe for V-Day and beyond.  This beautiful scuba dress(one of my favorite cuts–so flattering for all body types!) is already in my cart. Y’all, I’m always a sucker for a lace overlay, and this dress is no exception.  This is the closest to option to the dress I’m wearing and bonus–it’s jersey! Hella comfortable!

IMG_6870 (2).JPG

This bag was a Christmas gift from Mr. Jay, and saying I’m obsessed is putting it mildly.  I saw it on another blogger’s post and instantly added it to my list.  I love a good dupe, because I really can’t fathom spending a fortune on a bag that I’ll only use a few times.  If you’re not really feeling the velvet, this leather option is also fab.  Or if you’re looking for a bit of a splurge, but not prepared to go full-on Chanel, this Rebecca Minkoff version is amazing!  These boots are my favorites, y’all.  The wedge is just tall enough to not kill me and the suede is beautiful.  The exact pair is a few years old, but this version from target is almost identical! These earrings are also a great addition, and on major sale!

What are you guys looking forward to donning for V-Day?? Thanks so much for reading, and be sure to check the blooper reel below (shooting with Mr. Jay on the other side of the camera was such a blast)! A special thank you to my BFF Kristen for playing paparazzi for the day!

XO,

Jess

Leave a Reply

