The Clothes Make the {Wo}man

The Clothes Make the {Wo}man

In the sixth grade I had this pair of jeans that I just loved. I’m closer to 30 now and can say with confidence that I’ll never forget those jeans. They made me feel like myself. I also distinctly remember an incident involving a sweater that I had eagerly anticipated debuting. Sadly, that debut never came.

I wish I could say that I was the fearless middle schooler who had an identity and wasn’t afraid to show it. I look back now and wish I’d worn the oatmeal sweater that my grandmother paid $30(a lot in my family) for. I wish I hadn’t overheard the popular girls discussing how heinous it was, or that I’d worn it in spite of their comments. A lot has changed in the nearly two decades since that sweater. Although I cannot claim to completely love my body, I’m much more comfortable and confident in my skin. As with most people, my style journey has had some interesting twists and turns. I think I’ve landed solid on my feet, and while I may look back in twenty years and think, ‘Really, those shoes?’, hopefully I’ll remember that they were really “in”at the time.

I love the way clothes can make you feel, although I suppose that could seem quite superficial.  The internet tells me that Coco Chanel said, “Fashion is not something that exists in dresses only. Fashion is in the sky, in the street. Fashion has to do with ideas, the way we live, what is happening.”  Your clothes can be the daily, most personal expression of your truest self, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t days for yoga pants and sweatshirts–believe me sister, there are. I’ve been considering this “fashion blog” venture for a bit of time now, and I hope you’ll tag along for the ride!

2 thoughts on “The Clothes Make the {Wo}man

Leave a Reply

